Mission

Honey Bee Suite is dedicated to honey bees, beekeeping, wild bees, other pollinators, and pollination ecology. It is designed to be informative and fun, but also to remind readers that pollinators throughout the world are endangered. Although they may seem small and insignificant, pollinators are vital to anyone who eats.

Categories

Gallery

hawk-moth-3 red-mason-bee-nest-flcc-tpj screened-inner-cover-5 storing-nectar-rusty poster-bee bee-on-berry

 

May 2012
S M T W T F S
« Apr    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Plants that Attract Pollinators

Popular Garden Plants:

Basil (Ocimum)
Bee balm (Monardia)
Black-eyed Susan (Rudbeckia)
Borage (Borago)
Caltrop (Kallstroemia)
Cotoneaster (Cotoneaster)
English Lavendar (Lavandula)
Escallonia (Escallonia)
Globe thistle (Echinops)
Hyssop (Hyssopus)
Licorice Mint (Agastache)
Marjoram (Origanum)
Mexican sunflower (Tithonia)
Milkweed (Asclepias)
Rocky Mountain Bee Plant (Cleome)
Rosemary (Rosmarinus)
Russian Sage (Perovskia)
Sage (Salvia)
Wallflower (Erysimum)
Wild lilac (Ceanothus)
Zinnia (Zinnia)

Northwest Native Plants:

Aster (Aster)
California poppy (Eschscholzia)
Currant (Ribes)
Elder (Sambucus)
Fireweed (Epilobium)
Goldenrod (Solidago)
Joe-pye weed (Eupatorium)
Larkspur (Delphinium)
Lupine (Lupinus)
Madrone (Arbutus)
Mint (Mentha)
Oregon grape (Berberis)
Penstemon (Penstemon)
Rabbitbrush (Chrysothamnus)
Rhododendron (Rhododendron)
Saskatoon (Amalanchier)
Scorpion-weed (Phacelia)
Snowberry (Symphoricarpos)
Stonecrop (Sedum)
Sunflower (Helianthus)
Wild buckwheat (Eriogonum)
Willow (Salix)
Yarrow (Achillea)

Update on Copyright Infringement

I want to thank everyone who wrote e-mails and comments with ideas for combating this problem. Not only were they helpful (and entertaining!) but they made me realize I wasn’t crazy for being annoyed.

I have removed the remainder of this post until I consult with my attorney and decide how to proceed. In the meantime, thanks for reading.

Rusty

5 comments to Update on Copyright Infringement

  • I came across your tweet and did a quick “WHOIS” search of the website for you and here is what I found:

    registrant-firstname: Oneandone
    registrant-lastname: Private Registration
    registrant-organization: 1&1 Internet, Inc. – http://1and1.com/contact
    registrant-street1: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300
    registrant-street2: ATTN: beekeeperguide.com
    registrant-pcode: 19087
    registrant-state: PA
    registrant-city: Chesterbrook
    registrant-ccode: US
    registrant-phone: +1.8772064254

    I think the above info is a “private registration” gateway so that you can’t find out exactly who owns the domain. You have to go through THAT company and they can respond or not. A good attorney would be able to help you go further.

    I also did a look up of DiscoverBeeKeeping.com and it took a bit more searching but I found that it was registered by a company named CTCDesign. Here is their contact info:
    Chavez, Charles charles@ctcdesign.com
    CTCDesign
    1814 Mesa View Ln
    Fort Collins, Colorado 80526
    United States
    +1.9702140123

    Again, they may not be the “client” but may be the “tech” contact. Since Mr. Nick Winters is not the culprit, he may be of some assistance in helping to identify these companies who are. From my experience in website building, there HAS to be some kind of connection from BeeKeeperGuide to DiscoverBeeKeeping and there has to be some connection to Mr. Winters (and HE may want to know what that is). It has to be a distributor of his book, “associate” of a distributor, or a publisher if it isn’t him. Follow the money. Someone is making something off of it, or it wouldn’t be up. If I was Mr. Winters, I would want to know who is making a crooked buck from my name & someone else’s blog content. Every link that points anywhere points to advertise his book and purchase it from DiscoverBeeKeeping.com.

    Additionally, I thought you might like to know some info about how they are reposting your posts: They are “feeding” your RSS feed from your site into theirs. I do something similar with the Arkansas Razorbacks. I have a twitter user named: @FeedingHogs that filters through hundreds of news sources and posts the headline & a link to the original article about the Razorbacks. I also note the source’s twitter user name. I have the option to post ALL of the content but I just use headlines since I only have 140 characters in twitter. In most cases, doing what beekeeperguide.com is doing completely “legal” because people do what I do and cite the source, link bank to the original, and have permission or “public domain” usage. However, I believe you have a strong case here for copyright infringement because they are feeding the posts into their blog as their own content. You may not be the only one they are feeding. I would suggest putting a link to your blog under your signature. This will send people back to your site from theirs! Good luck. I look forward to reading more about bees and less about pests. :)

    • Rusty

      Ray,

      Wow, you did a lot of work on my behalf and I appreciate it. I’m getting the feeling that Mr. Winter may not be the culprit and I will use your information to delve deeper into the problem. There’s a lot of good stuff here. I will start by adding a link back to my own site. Thanks so much and keep in touch.

  • Rusy,
    Thanks for posting about this copyright issue! I’m new to blogging, and it would be a great learning tool for me (and probably others) to hear the outcome. I hope you go after beekeeperguide.com with all you’ve got, no matter who owns it. I think you are completely justified in being “annoyed,” because I’d be furious! I’ve been looking at your site for a few weeks now because it’s in my niche of “bees” and it’s clear that you put a lot of thought into your posts. You should absolutely be given credit for the content! Please do post an update occasionally about the developments with this situation! Best of luck!
    Athena :)

  • Nick Winters

    Hi Rusty, I wanted to apologize to you and all of your readers for what has happened to you and your blog and I’m more than willing to help in any way I can.

    RayZorback posted some good information. I would send a cease and desist email to 1&1 via this email address: proxy2738013@1and1-private-registration.com, I would also cc this email address: abuse@1and1.com

    There isn’t any copyright infringement in the name itself but the email will make it to the original owner.

    I also checked DNS which tells the internet where the site is hosted and it started at hostgator but now shows hostmonster:

    Nameserver: NS1.HOSTMONSTER.COM
    Nameserver: NS2.HOSTMONSTER.COM

    I think an abuse email to them will get that host to shut him down.

    I also have an email out to my tech guy to see if we can keep this guy off of my site. I think something with htaccess will work.

    Either way, we’ll find a way to either stop this guy completely or get him to remove your content!

    Nick

    • Rusty

      Nick,

      Thank you so much for responding to this problem. I am working from my end and, with you taking an initiative on your end, we should be able to shut these predators down.

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>